Web Analytics Are Keepin’ It Real

Well, they’re keepin’ it real relevant at least. Part of what has gotten me interested in analytics is the ever-increasing need for something that measures online activity. We’re only becoming more and more digitally connected, which means that we will only continue to need more people to analyze online trends and information. As I was reading through The Forrester Wave: Web Analytics, I was really surprised to see Google NOT at the very top of this list. For some reason, when I think of analytics I immediately think of Google Analytics, which probably serves more to my naivety in the subject than to the rest of what’s on the forefront everyone’s mind. I found the visual comparisons of the six different evaluated vendors (Adobe, AT Internet, Google, IBM, SAS Institute and Webtrends) helpful in being able to see why Adobe was clearly leading the pack, having understandably high scores in current offerings, strategies and market presence (they are a leading creative company with their own Marketing Cloud, after all). I took a little look at their website after I finished the reading to find out more, and came across this awesome video explaining analytics. They have this perfectly understandable (by anyone!) explanation down in a minute and 30 seconds featuring an iPad (because what other tablet actually matters, lets be real) with pretty visual graphs and charts on the side. Sold!

Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 11.06.16 PM

*Find the “See how analytics works” video through picture link

While I found it extremely informative to read about all six superstar analytic giants, I probably focused more on what this meant for Google, because I’m interested in possibly working for them (if I would ever be so lucky!). What I found interesting was the repeated mention of the ease of use of the Google interface. This would make it a more universal product, as many different kinds of people could use it, even if they don’t completely understand the system. I also hyper-focused on Google as I have been embarking on their online journey that covers their Digital Analytics Fundamentals. With that said, I have to say that I have a special place in my heart for IBM as well. Doubling as a psych and marketing major gives you an extra special relationship with SPSS. All the graph options! Those descriptive statistic! Talk about user friendly with a slick design. I was stoked to see that as a top contender as well, although I do have to agree with a few of the downfalls…the hefty price tag can be a deterant, but I never thought of the fact that they could be ignoring a portion of the traditional web analytic customers because of their focus on the enterprise. The more you learn!

In any case, businesses either do already or will HAVE to depend on analytics for growth in the future. Through the Google Analytic Acadamy videos, their preliminary information alone on conversion and attribution theory is a key indicator of the need for this information. For example, when I’m online shopping for the newest fashion must-have, the online retailer doesn’t really gain much information from this macro conversion alone (i.e. my purchase) but might gain a lot more useful information by all of my micro conversions (i.e. the steps that I took to come to making that purchase decision). From there, they can assign attribution value across as many channels as it took for me to arrive at that end decision to see how all of the channels act together to drive that conversion. Who knew that your browsing habits could be of such importance?! Now you have a solid reason to online shop your heart out.

Oh, and in case you’re a reader who’s stumbled upon this blog and are wondering what this course is all about, here’s a little snippet from my fun journey with the Google Analytic Acadamy:

“Digital analytics is the analysis of qualitative and quantitative data from your business and the competition to drive a continual improvement of the online experience that your customers and potential customers have which translates to your desired outcomes (both online and offline).” – Avinash Kaushik

Over and out!

One response to “Web Analytics Are Keepin’ It Real

  1. “In any case, businesses either do already or will HAVE to depend on analytics for growth in the future.”

    This is a bold claim that business (all, some, many?) will HAVE to. Why? Back it up. It seemed like you were about to but decided against giving me a reason to believe you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

